How to Fill Out a Car Title in New Jersey

If you own a vehicle in New Jersey, you must have a valid car title in order to prove ownership of the vehicle. The process for filling out and obtaining a car title differs, depending on how the car is obtained. If the car is purchased new from a dealership, the dealer will usually prepare the title for you. If you purchase the car secondhand from a private seller, however, you'll need to have the title transferred from the seller to yourself.

Purchasing a New Car

STEP 1 - Make sure that the car dealer has processed the car title for your new vehicle. If obtaining the New Jersey car title is your responsibility, you'll need to have the title processed within 10 days to avoid being charged a penalty fee.

STEP 2 - Go to one of the 45 Motor Vehicle Commission locations in New Jersey. If you aren't sure which agency location is nearest to your home, go to the MVC Web site (See link in the Resources section below) and click on the "Location" tab at the top of the page. There, you can search for locations in your area.

STEP 3 - Bring the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) to prove that you have paid the New Jersey sales tax on the vehicle.

STEP 4 - Provide the lien holder's name, address and corpcode if you took out a loan for the car. The car title will be sent to the lien holder until the debt is fulfilled.

STEP 5 - Pay the title fee to complete the process of obtaining a car title in New Jersey. The fee ranges from $60 to $110, depending on whether the car is financed and the number of lien holders on the vehicle.

Purchasing a Used Car

STEP 1 - Fill out the applicable parts of the car title to transfer the title from one individual to another. The seller must fill out the name and address of the new vehicle owner, the date of the sale, the vehicle mileage and the vehicle sale price. The buyer must sign the back of the title and provide her New Jersey driver's license number.

STEP 2 - Bring the signed title to a New Jersey MVC location to complete the title transfer. The buyer must appear in person with the signed title, proof of car insurance and the sales tax payment.

STEP 3 - Pay the $60 title fee ($85 for a financed vehicle) to complete the title transfer and receive your New Jersey license plates.

THINGS YOU'LL NEED: Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin, Lender information (if applicable), Title fee

Post a Comment